Stay at Home Mega List

Stuck at home? Let TPL help you be entertained and informed with our stay at home mega list of free online sources, including books, livestreams, online courses and much, much more! While you can find things for all the family on this page, you can also find resources on the Teen Stay at Home page and the Kids All From the Comfort of Your Own Home page! You can even watch online storytime with Mariah on the Digital Miss Mariah page! Keep checking this page as we’re adding new items all the time! Have something we could add? Email emma@topshamlibrary.org with a link.

Books and Reading

Grown Ups

Audio book cloud romance book cloud

Booklist https://www.booklistonline.com/

Find Your Next Author to Read https://www.literature-map.com/

For Horror Fans! https://bookandfilmglobe.com/fiction/horror-writers-unite-to-keep-fans-happy-during-pandemic/

For Neil Gaiman fans! https://www.neilgaiman.com/Cool_Stuff

Free Public Domain Audiobooks https://librivox.org/

Internet Sacred Text Archive https://www.sacred-texts.com/

Lithub Personalized Book Recommendations https://lithub.com/cant-decide-what-to-read-next-tell-us-your-favorite-books-and-well-recommend-one-just-for-you

Manga Volumes Released Online for Free http://epicstream.com/news/NobelleBorines/Coronavirus-Outbreak-Leads-to-Over-450-Manga-Volumes-Released-Online-for-Free

Manybooks https://manybooks.net/

New York Public Library https://www.nypl.org/books-music-movies/ebookcentral

NPR Book Concierge https://apps.npr.org/best-books/index.html#view=covers&year=2019

One Hundred Books Across America https://lithub.com/100-books-across-america-fiction-and-nonfiction-for-every-state-in-the-union/

Open Culture http://www.openculture.com/free_ebooks

Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Read Print http://www.readprint.com/

Speculative Online Magazine List Coming Soon!

Tor’s eBook of the Month Club (Science Fiction and Fantasy) https://ebookclub.tor.com/

Twenty Five Alice Munro stories you can read online https://lithub.com/25-alice-munro-stories-you-can-read-online-right-now/

YA

teen book cloud

Riveted https://rivetedlit.com/free-reads/

Kids

Link to tumblebooks

Famous actors including David Harbour, James Earl Jones and Betty White do storytime! https://www.storylineonline.net/

International Children’s Library http://en.childrenslibrary.org/

Library of Congress Classic Children’s Books http://www.read.gov/books/

Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems https://youtu.be/MjaYnyCJDdU

Readings of The Graveyard Book and Coraline http://www.mousecircus.com/videos/

Spanish Storytimes https://www.thespanishexperiment.com/stories

Coloring Pages

Grown Ups

Libraries and Museums http://www.openculture.com/2017/02/free-coloring-books-from-world-class-libraries-museums.html and http://www.openculture.com/2019/02/download-free-coloring-books-from-113-museums.html

Ricardo Levins Morales https://www.rlmartstudio.com/product/coloring-pages-5-popular-posters-free-pdf-downloads

Kids

Coming Soon!

Free Online Courses

Grown Ups

6 Weeks Free Workout Classes with Chris Hemsworth https://centr.com/join-us

Art and Art History Classes https://www.donttakepictures.com/dtp-blog/2020/3/16/free-classes-in-art-and-art-history-during-isolation

Debbie Allen of “Fame” fame online dance classes https://www.instagram.com/therealdebbieallen/

Gucci Osteria’s Massimo Bottura’s free virtual cooking classes https://www.timeout.com/los-angeles/news/gucci-osterias-massimo-bottura-is-offering-free-virtual-cooking-classes-on-instagram-031620

Ivy League Courses https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/ivy-league-free-online-courses-a0d7ae675869/

Learn to Code https://www.freecodecamp.org/

Maine Statehood and Bicentennial Conference https://digitalcommons.library.umaine.edu/me200/

Milk Street Online Cooking School https://www.177milkstreet.com/school/classes/online-classes

Kids

tumble math

12 Art Lessons on YouTube Your Kiddos will Love! https://homeschoolhideout.com/art-lessons-on-youtube

Center for Interactive Learning and Collaboration Core Curriculum Webinars https://www.cilc.org/Interactive-Content/Community-of-Learning.aspx

Great Books Sample Lesson Plans https://www.greatbooks.org/sample-lesson-plans-and-sample-units/

Great Books Open Educational Resources https://www.greatbooks.org/open-educational-resources-dl/

Osher Map Library Curriculum Sets https://oshermaps.org/teach/downloads

Scholastic learn at Home https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Weather Presentations https://wokq.com/meteorologist-hayley-lapoint-will-offer-live-weather-courses-to-students-k-12/

Information Sources

Grown Ups

Art Institute of Chicago Image Archive https://www.artic.edu/collection

Cambridge Core Textbooks https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks

NASA Image and Video Library https://images.nasa.gov/

Online AA Meetings https://www.aa-intergroup.org/directory.php

Open Culture http://www.openculture.com/

Citizen Science Projects https://www.zooniverse.org/ and https://scistarter.org/

YA

Portland Public Library Resources for Teens  https://www.portlandlibrary.com/highlight/ppl-highlighted-teen-eresources/

Kids

Ask Questions about the World Around us! http://www.wonderopolis.org/

Lego Challenge Printables https://www.freehomeschooldeals.com/free-printable-30-day-lego-challenge-instant-download

Nature-based Stay at Home Activities with CREA! https://creamaine.org/category/at-home-nature-based-activities/

Portland Public Library Resources for Children https://www.portlandlibrary.com/highlight/ppl-highlighted-childrens-eresources/

Science and Health Resources https://medlineplus.gov/childrenspage.html

Podcasts

Coming Soon!

Virtual Tours and Livestreams

Twenty Virtual Field Trips to Take with Your Kids https://adventuresinfamilyhood.com/20-virtual-field-trips-to-take-with-your-kids.html

Animals and Aquariums

Farm tours http://origin.americandairy.com/news-and-events/dairy-diary/dairy-farming/virtual-farm-tours-while-youre-stuck-at-home.stml

Maine Alpaca Farm https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyqixVNSygWPzNCeve8LO2w/featured

New England Aquarium https://www.neaq.org/visit/at-home-events-and-activities/

Live Animal Cams

Big list of animal cams including pandas, wolves, tigers, koalas, naked mole rats and much more! https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1239545102831366144.html Here’s another one–there may be some repeats https://www.adventure-journal.com/2020/03/if-youre-stuck-inside-might-as-well-enjoy-this-list-of-animal-cams/

Home Safari at Cincinnati Zoo including Fiona the Hippo http://cincinnatizoo.org/home-safari-resources/

Jelly Fish! https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/jelly-webcam/

Arts and Culture, Museums and Galleries

Metropolitan Opera Live Streams https://operawire.com/metropolitan-opera-to-offer-up-nightly-met-opera-streams

Twelve Famous Museum Virtual Tours https://www.travelandleisure.com/attractions/museums-galleries/museums-with-virtual-tours

Where to Stream Live Concerts https://www.npr.org/2020/03/17/816504058/a-list-of-live-virtual-concerts-to-watch-during-the-coronavirus-shutdown

Nature and National Parks

Thirty-three National Park Virtual Tours https://totallythebomb.com/heres-33-national-park-tours-you-can-take-virtually-from-the-comfort-of-your-home