Sarah Whitten Community Award Recipients

Sarah Whitten Community Award

In 2015, the library’s Board of Trustees launched the Sarah Whitten Community Award, which recognizes a community member for his or her outstanding service to the library and community. The award is given in the spirit of the library’s first donor, Sarah Whitten, who donated her family home in 1941 to serve as Topsham’s first library.

Award recipients

2017  – Dana Cary

Dana Cary, a life-long Topsham resident, was honored with the Third Annual Sarah Whitten Community Award on February 3, 2017 for his extensive volunteer work in the greater Topsham and Brunswick area.  For more than 20 years, he has been a volunteer and member of community boards, committees, and service organizations, including the Topsham Public Library, Mid Coast Hunger Prevention, The Gathering Place, and the Brunswick-Topsham Land Trust.  He co-founded the Topsham Historical Society with his cousin Ed Mendes and is a board member of the Pejepscot Historical Society.

Dana was an early supporter and donor to the Capital Campaign to build the library on Foreside Road and has been a quiet and steady force for good wherever he goes.  As a member of the library’s volunteer gardeners, Dana has spent hours working on the Songbird/Butterfly garden and has helped in removing invasive species and trimming trees.  As one of the library’s trustees summed it up concisely: “If anyone is in need, you will find Dana Cary there.”

We are grateful to have him blooming where he was planted… in Topsham! See photos of the event on our Facebook page.

2016 – Don Russell

Don RussellDon Russell was honored with the second annual Sarah Whitten Community Award for his nearly 50 years of community service to the Topsham community. Don, who has lived in Topsham for 79 years, wrapped up his public service in 2015, leaving a legacy that includes service as the chair of the Board of Selectman twice, and as a member of the Planning Board, School Administrative District 75 Board of Directors, Local Redevelopment Authority for the Topsham Navy Annex, Sagadahoc Budget Advisory Committee and the Board of Assessment Review. See photos of the event on our Facebook page.


2015 – Connie Bailey

Connie BaileyThe first Sarah Whitten Community Award was presented to Volunteer Gallery Coordinator Connie Bailey, who has been a long-time library volunteer and Friends of the Topsham Public Library supporter. She has established the Crooker Gallery as a showcase for local artists, with the Joy of Art and Joy of the Lens juried art competitions and a schedule of regularly changing exhibits. She has been a long-time drawing teacher at the People Plus Center in Brunswick, Maine and has been installing art exhibits for many years in Maine and New England. She is also an accomplished artist herself. See photos of the event on our Facebook page.