The Joy of… Series

The Joy of…series comprises of three cultural events at Topsham Public Library that are co-sponsored by the Friends of the Topsham Public Library: Joy of Art, Joy of the Lens and Joy of the Pen.

Joy of Art

The Joy of Art is our annual juried art exhibit which features original artwork by year-round Maine residents, both amateur and professional. Each year the work can be viewed in the Crooker Gallery. Prizes are awarded in categories including mixed media, oil/acrylic, other media, pastels, and watercolor. Applications for the next Joy of Art will be available in November.

Congratulations to the 2018 winners!

Ann Slocum for Untitled #2 – Oil/Acrylic
Amy Puleo for Boothbay Trail – Pastel
Robert Kahler for Moonlight, Ice Out, Androscoggin – Watercolor
Natasha Kempers-Cullen for Red Doors – Mixed/Other Media
Howard Soloman for Sweetie – 3-dimensional
Antje Kay Sutton for Headdress – Peoples’ Choice Award

Honorable Mentions:
Kevin Mizner for Joan – Oil/Acrylic
Barbara Snapp for Market Street, Kinsdale – Mixed/Other Media
Howard Solomon for Studley – 3-Dimensional
Emily Hollister for Focus – Peoples’ Choice Award

Joy of the Lens

The Joy of the Lens is our annual juried photography exhibit which features original photography by year-round Maine residents, both amateur and professional.Each year the work can be viewed in the Crooker Gallery. Prizes are awarded in categories including Nature and Landscapes/Seascapes, People, Animals, Digital Darkroom, Details and Macro, and 35mm. Applications are next February.

Congratulations to the 2018 Winners!

Linda Cullivan for Unheard Melody – Color
Richard Tarr for The Watchman – Black & White
Nancy Greindl for Daydreaner – Linda’s Challenge: Shadows **
Mike Cullivan for Winter Fox – People’s Choice Award

Honorable Mentions:
Bill Boyd for Saltwater Farm – Color
Mike Cullivan for Winter Fox – Color
Tim Loose for The Grotto, Roaring Fork River, Colorado – Black & White
Tim Loose for Oak and Redwoods, Big Sur, California – Black & White
Linda Cullivan for Pier Shadows – Linda’s Challenge: Shadows **
Peter A. McCarthy for The Meeting House – Linda’s Challenge: Shadows **

** Theme selected by Linda Cullivan
2017 People’s Choice Award Winner

Joy of the Pen

Joy of the Pen is our annual writing competition which is open to year-round Maine residents. This year, we awarded the following prizes, sponsored by The Cryer: The Verdi L. Tripp Fiction Award, Margaret F. Tripp Poetry Award and Richard F. Snow Nonfiction Award and sponsored by Just Write Books: Maine-related Nonfiction Award and Honorable Mention. We also awarded Honorable Mentions in Fiction, Poetry and Nonfiction, sponsored by the Friends of The Topsham Public Library and a Teen Award and Honorable Mention sponsored by TPL Teen Scene. You can read the winning entries and author bios, watch readings and much, much more on the online Joy of the Pen Literary Journal. We will be accepting submissions for Joy of the Pen in next September.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners!

Cecelia Hitte for My Palestine – The Verdi L. Tripp Fiction Award
Margaret Elliott for Magda’s Wren – Fiction Honorable Mention
Stephen Bloom for Bomb – Margaret F. Tripp Poetry Award
Nicole Jakubowski for I am Vinalhaven – Poetry Honorable Mention
John Leggett for James E. Strates and Pagan Jones – Richard F. Snow Nonfiction Award
Monica Kissane for Redemption (The Funeral) – Nonfiction Honorable Mention
Hannah Wilson for Daddy Issues – TPL Teen Scene Award
Natalia Pinette for Yellow Bird – Teen Honorable Mention
Robin Orm Hansen for Meddling with the Children of Others – Just Write Maine-related Nonfiction Award